top of page
Search
  • Ellie Pratt

TEXT


WHAT I DID

For todays shoot we had to take photos involving/of text. I decided to create an artistic collage involving newspaper intertwined with portraiture. To do this I taped torn up pieces of newspaper onto my face and hand; meaning I can include my hand to give the photos more emotion and drama. I then set up a tripod and took a series of self portraits. I had a lamp pointed towards the left side of my face resulting in strong dramatic lighting which I think works well against the tones of white in the photos. To edit these I went into photoshop and selected a newspaper background and then cut myself out and placed me on top of the newspaper background. I then put the photos in black and white which made the overall outcome appear more old and worn which is what a newspaper has connotations of to me. I also added a grain effect over the top to accentuate this idea of the photos being old and crumbled like the texture of a newspaper itself.


INSPIRATION

For todays shoot I was inspired by a portrait artist who draws beautiful, realistic portraits over newspaper and old scraps of books, maps etc. His name is Mark Powell and I loved recreating his work during part of my GCSE art project so i wanted to recreate his work this time but usuing it to create a photographic response. Here is some of his work...


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page