top of page
Search
  • Ellie Pratt

SHADOW


WHAT I DID For todays shoot we had to take photos of shadows. I wanted to incorporate my love for textiles and fabric into this shoot therefore to achieve these photos I found a sunny spot in my garden and hung a piece of white fabric over the wall to use as a base for the shadows to lay on top of. I chose white fabric because I knew the dark shadows would stand out and act as a contrast making the shapes and patterns more noticeable and detailed. To achieve these flower and plant patterns I simply laid a plant pot in front of the fabric allowing it to show up like an imprint. I then held onto some unique leaves and flowers showing my hand as well because I thought it added a nice vintage appeal and 'shabby chic' vibe. To edit these photos I put the original images in black and white to really accentuate the contrast of the shadows; resulting in them appearing darker and more defined.


INSPIRATION

Todays shoot was inspired by Pinterest. I found some images that I loved because of the shadows look and the energy they hold without any detail or colour. I think the beauty of these photos is that its open to interpretation with the emotions they convey. the black and white could suggest sadness however the hands and plants could suggest happiness. Here are the photos...

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page